We Already Are Where We Are

As we were leaving the Muktinath temple on our way back to the village of Kagbeni, my daughter reached the entrance gate and said, “We already are where we are.” Certainly, she meant that we had returned back to where we started but I was so charmed by this statement. It has become a mantra in a way. Each time we reached a place we had been before, I found myself saying it. We are where we are and we keep coming back. A metaphor of sorts.

As I mentioned in a previous post, my husband and I went on the Annapurna trek exactly 20 years ago. We did it in reverse this time, flying into Jomsom and walking back to Ghasa. It was my goal to make it up to Muktinath since we were unable to reach there the last time due to the all too common traveler’s sickness. It was wonderful to be back here with our children despite some of the challenges with the road. Development in the area has certainly had a negative impact for trekkers, but we were able to find alternative trails that avoided the dusty and often times dangerous road.

Rather than bore you dear readers, with a full trip report, I offer these visuals. I did spend some extra time to caption the images if you are so inclined.

 

Jomsom to Ghasa-8
Queue for the next flight.
Jomsom to Ghasa-24
The village of Jomsom

 

Jomsom to Ghasa-18
Carrying water to make Chaang

 

Jomsom to Ghasa-11
Donkey transport
Jomsom to Ghasa-62
Mother and child along the roadside between Kagbeni and Jharkot.

 

 

 

Jomsom to Ghasa-109
Don’t follow the herd

6 thoughts on “We Already Are Where We Are”

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words Tom! Sending you warm greeting for the Thanksgiving holiday and of course regards and belly rubs to Buddy.

      Like

Leave a comment